The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is a historical fiction novel published by Atria Books. It tells the story of a fictional old Hollywood star Evelyn Hugo, who plans to leave the show in her 80s.

At the beginning of the story, the Hollywood star at her age of 79 plans to tell about all her glamorous and scandalous life. She chooses an unknown magazine reporter Monique Grant to tell her story.

Her story consists of a tale of ruthless ambition, unexpected friendship, and great forbidden love.

Evelyn Hugo also mentions the sevens husbands on her way to the current position. The story at last will also give the readers an idea, of why Evelyn chose Monique to tell her story. It creates some suspense in the readers when Monique finds Evelyn’s life intersecting with hers. The story gives a good lesson to everyone; That they can achieve their goals by working hard.

Book author: Taylor Jenkins Reid
Publishing date: 13 June 2017
Ratings: 4.5/5
Characters:

  • Evelyn Hugo-The iconic movie Star
  • Monique Grant-reporter to whom Evelyn tells her story

Other characters include Connor Cameron, Celia St, Harry Cameron, Ernie Diaz, etc.

Category: Historical fiction, Romance

10 Similar books Like The Seven Husbands  for Evelyn Hugo

1. Dangerous Honor By May Dawson

Dangerous Honor is a fictional story about a maid. The story is completely a fantasy with a heart-wrenching story. The character description made in the story will make the readers feel their presence.

Dangerous Honor tells about the love of a maid towards two royal brothers, who are sworn, enemies. The maid is a suspicious character in the story, whom the two brothers love.

Books Like From The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo

Book author: May Dawson
Publishing date: 28 December 2021
Ratings: 4.4/5
Category: fiction, love, fantasy

2. The Princess Knight By G.A. Aiken

The Princess Knight is a fantasy ancient wartime novel. For all those people who love ancient war stories, this is the best choice. Gemma Smythe is one of the main characters in this story who dedicated her life to the glory of battle.

The twist of Gemma Smythe’s sister Keeley becoming the Blacksmith Queen and Gemma breaking her faith to fight by her side makes the story more interesting. Readers of all ages including children will get entertained by reading this novel.

Books Like From The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo

Book author: G.A. Aiken
Publishing date: 24 November 2020
Ratings: 4.3/5
Category: Fantasy fiction, Romance novel

3. Crystal Singer Omnibus by Anne McCaffrey, Michael Whelan

It is a fantasy novel about Killashandra who want to become a crystal singer. The story with Killishandra getting the news that she would never become a concert singer.

Sher feels like her world has just ended, by hearing such words. Later she meets a stranger, who identifies himself as a crystal singer (a unique character). Killashandra later discovers that the crystal singers were special people shrouded in mystery, danger, and beauty.

Thus, she plans to become a Crystal Singer. The story is full of fantasies and mysteries which will be entertainment for all the readers.

Books Like From The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo

Book author: Anne McCaffrey, Michael Whelan
Publishing date: 1996
Ratings: 4.8/5
Category: fantasy novel, fiction, mystery, space

Look Through: Books Like The Silent Patient

4. Gift of the Gods by Eva Ashwood

Gift of the Gods is the first book of the Magic Blessed Academy series. The story is only suitable for adult readers. Gift of the Gods tells about a magic world where some students with special powers are forced to join.

The narrator or the main character in the story doesn’t like her powers and thus hates to be at Magic Blessed Academy. She fears that she will have to team up with her bullies in the God’s Challenge. This is a complete fantasy novel, with love and suspense.

Books Like From The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo

Book author: Eva Ashwood
Publishing date: 7 October 2019
Ratings: 4/5
Category:
Fantasy novel, love, fiction

5. City of Girls by Elizabeth Gilbert

City of Girls is the story of a normal girl named Vivan Morris, who is kicked out of Vassar College. The story is suitable for all readers, as it tells about the problems faced by Vivan Morris and different things happening in her life.

Vivan Morris after dropout was sent to her aunt Peg’s house in Manhattan. There she comes to know about some people including showgirls, an actor, actresses, a writer, etc.

The story gets more interesting when Vivan creates a personal mistake. The mistake results in a professional scandal and turns her new world upside down. It is a good story for those who like a love life.

Books Like From The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo

Book author: Elizabeth Gilbert
Publishing date: 4 June 2019
Ratings: 4/5
Category: Romance novel, Historical Fiction

6. Daisy Jones and The Six by Taylor Jenkins-Reid

The gripping novel Daisy Jones and the Six tells the story of a rock group and their beautiful lead singer. The story is about a girl named Daisy and a rock band group named the six.

Daisy is a girl living her life in clubs, and dreaming to become a singer at Whisky a Go-Go. Later her voice gets noticed and she becomes a star, as such her beauty makes people do crazy things.

Along with her The Six band also gets noticed. It is somewhat of a novel including love, achieving ambition, and other problems.

Books Like From The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo

Book author: Taylor Jenkins-Reid
Publishing date: 5 March 2019
Ratings: 4.2/5
Category: Historical fiction

7. The Book Thief  by Markus Zusak

The Book Thief is a novel based on the time of World War 2. Liesel is the main character in the story who starts to steal books. It is an interesting novel for all age groups showing the tragedies and other problems faced by Liesel.

The first book Liesel gets is The Gravedigger’s Handbook left there unknowingly. Liesel finds it beside her brother’s grave. After that, she learns to read with the help of her accordion-playing foster father.

Later she starts to steal books from every, including the mayor’s wife’s library and all other places where books are found.

Books Like From The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo

Book author: Markus Zusak
Publishing date: 2005
Ratings: 4.4/5
Category: Young adult fiction, historical fiction

Also Check : Books Like “It Ends With Us”

8. Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

The historical novel Wolf Hall is about Henry VIII and his quest for a male heir. If he dies without an heir, his kingdom will be a great disaster and will be destroyed in the civil war.

Henry VIII decides to annul his marriage of twenty years and to marry Anne Boleyn. But it is opposed by the pope and most of Europe. The story is written in a slow phase, and it is worth reading.

Books Like From The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo

Book author: Hilary Mantel
Publishing date: 30 April 2009
Ratings: 3.9/5
Category: Historical fiction

9. Wicked Ugly Bad by Cassandra Gannon

The fairy tale kind of novel Wicked Ugly Bad is about the stepsisters of Cinderella who are in the prison. The complete story is about their plan to break out from there with help of The Big Bad Wolf. All age group readers will get entertained with this story, as it has many twists and plans.

Books Like From The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo

Book author: Cassandra Gannon
Publishing date: 28 September 2017
Ratings: 4/5
Category: Fairy tale, Fantasy fiction

10. Scars and Songs by Christine Zolendz

Scars and Songs is a Fantasy novel, which tells the story of angels and men. The main character in the story is Shane Maxton, the frontman of New York City’s popular rock band.

He has a lot of secrets, as he is from an ancient world when angels walked among men. The story is about Shane’s forbidden love, his fall from grace, and his inner turmoil. Scars and Songs are only suitable for adults.

Books Like From The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo

Book author: Christine Zolendz
Publishing date: 18 June 2013
Ratings: 4.3/5
Category: Fantasy novel, fiction, love

Frequently Asked Questions

What should I read if I like the seven husbands of Evelyn Hugo?

If you got interested in Reading Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, then you will also like Dangerous Honor, The Princess Knight, Crystal Singer Omnibus, Gift of the Gods, and other related books.

Are The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo going to be a movie?

Yes, the novel Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid is going to be a movie. The adaptation was announced in March 2022.

What should I read if I loved Verity?

If you loved reading the novel Verity, then many other books will give you the same feeling. You can read Rebecca, Confessions, The seven husbands of Evelyn Hugo, etc

Is The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo related to Malibu Rising?

Yes, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and Malibu Rising take place in the same historical fictional universe. But the story is both the novels are not related.

To Summarize

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is a historical fiction novel written by the famous author Taylor Jenkins Reid. For those who are trying to find similar novels, this is the best place. The books mentioned in this article will give you the same feeling as that of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo.

Also Read: Books Like No Longer Human