Books like Girl in Pieces are the story of a young girl who self-harms because of the burden of her problems. By the age of seventeen, a girl named Charlotte Davis lost many belongings and even her best friend.

The sorrows made by those losses make her think that her life is worthless and tries to suicide.

At beginning of the story, Charlotte wakes up at the hospital because of her suicidal attempt. Her situation was so harsh, as her abusive mother kicked her out of the house after her father’s death.

The book shows several issues faced by a teen girl in her life. She was unable to deal with her family issues and ends up in self-destructive behavior.

Other than the destructive behavior, the story also depicts the use of alcoholics, drug addicts, and homelessness. Girl in Pieces novel is only suited for adult readers, and it will give informative knowledge.

Book author: Kathleen Glasgow
Publishing date: 22 August 2016
Ratings: 4.1/5
characters

  • Charlotte Davis – the main character, the narrator in the novel
  • Misty Davis
  • Eleanor
  • Other characters include Blue, Loisa, Micheal, Evan Dump, etc.

Category: Fictional novel

10 Similar Books Like From Girl In Pieces

1. Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

Every Last Word is a novel about Samantha McAllister. Even though she looks like a normal girl, she is affected by purely-obsessional OCD. The story is all about her daily life struggle, her love, and many others.

Books Like Girl In Pieces

Book author: Tamara Ireland Stone
Publishing date: June 2015
Ratings: 4.3/5
Category: Fictional novel

2. They Both Die At The End By Adam Silvera

They Both Die at the End is all about the adventures of Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio on their end day.

The story begins with the midnight death cast call giving Mateo and Rufus bad news. They were told that they will die that day and thus ends up with only a single day to enjoy their life.

The two new friends Mateo and Rufus end ups together for the one-day adventure through an app called ‘The last Friend’. They Both Die at the End is a good novel and is suited for all age groups.

Books Like Girl In Pieces

Book author: Adam Silvera
Publishing date: 5 September 2017
Ratings: 3.9/5
Category: a fictional novel, adventure

3. It Ends With Us By Colleen Hoover

The romance novel It Ends with Us is about the story of Lily and her life. At the beginning of the story, Lily moved to Boston for starting her own business.

At first, she was a stubborn person, who does not like love. But later she falls for a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid.

Lily faces problems with her new love when Atlas her first love returns. The readers will be tempted to read the novel until the end, as it has lots of suspense.

Book author: Colleen Hoover
Publishing date: 2 August 2016
Ratings: 4.4/5
Category:

4. What To Say Next By Julie Buxbaum

What to Say Next is a story about an unexpected friendship between two teenagers struggling to overcome their problems.

The story starts with a popular student Kit Lowell, who no more wants to be with her old friends Annie and Violet. She was currently going through a bad mental condition after her father’s tragic car accident.

Later she makes friends with David an isolated student. The story continues with their unlikely friendship, and them figuring out Kit’s dad’s car accident. The story is best suited for all teenagers showing many problems faced by them.

Books Like Girl In Pieces

Book author: Julie Buxbaum
Publishing date: 5 April 2016
Ratings: 4.6/5
Category: Fictional novel

5. Pizza Girl: A Novel By Jean Kyoung Frazier

Pizza Girl is a story about an eighteen-year-old pregnant girl who works as a pizza delivery girl. The charming heroine of the story became dysfunctional and completely lost after her father’s death.

She avoided her supportive mother and loving boyfriend and tries to live on her own. The story continues with her unhappy life until she meets Jenny, one of her customers, and becomes obsessed with her.

The story shows the different lives of one person looking towards motherhood and another towards middle age. Thus, this story suits all readers especially those of similar ages as that in the story.

Book author: Jean Kyoung Frazier
Publishing date: 9 June 2020
Ratings: 3.4/5
Category: LGBT literature, Bildungsroman, coming-of-age story

6. Holding Up The Universe By Jennifer Niven

The story in the novel Holding Up the Universe is a young adult novel about two teenagers Jack Masselin and Libby Strout.

Jack is secretly affected by a neurological disorder called prosopagnosia; thus he cannot recognize others’ faces. Libby on the other hand is facing overweight issues, and she was even lifted by a crane after having a panic attack.

The story continues with both the teenagers finding similarities in themselves and later getting into a relationship. Holding Up the Universe is suited for all teenagers and is best for those who face related issues.

Book author: Jennifer Niven
Publishing date: 4 April 2016
Ratings: 3.8/5
Category: Fictional novel

7. All The Bright Places By Jennifer Niven

The young adult fiction novel All the Bright Places tells the story of Theodore Finch and Violet Markey.

Theodore has some serious troubles, which tempt him to harm himself. Each time when he tries to kill himself, something stops him. The other character in the story Violet is in depression after her sister’s death.

Their life changes into a happy one when both of them find meet each other. They pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state. Both of them feel comfortable when they are with one another; it made them happy. All the Bright Places is good for readers of all ages.

Books Like Girl In Pieces

Book author: Jennifer Niven
Publishing date: 6 January 2015
Ratings: 4.2/5
Category: Fictional novel

8. The First Time She Drowned By Kerry Kletter

The First Time She Drowned is all about Cassie O’ Malley and her problems in life. Her situation was terrible because her unloving mother lied to have Cassie committed to a mental institution for two and a half years.

Later she reclaims her freedom but fails to manage everything because of the psychological damage faced before. The story continues with Cassie digging into her past to know the history of herself and her family.

The First Time She Drowned novel is suited for adult readers only, as it contains the use of some violent languages and drug usage.

Book author: Kerry Kletter
Publishing date: 15 March 2016
Ratings: 4/5
Category: Fictional novel, mystery

9. Paperweight By Meg Haston

Paperweight novel is about the eating disorder of a seventeen-year-old girl named Stevie and the problems she faces in her life. She gets into such trouble and struggles with guilt when her mother leaves her family.

Things become more complicated when her brother Josh dies because of her. Her dad admits her to an eating-disorder treatment center for sixty days, but Stevie does not plan to stay that long.

She plans to get out of that place because her brother’s anniversary was near. The story continues engagingly with different hard situations faced by Stevie.

Books Like Girl In Pieces

Book author: Meg Haston
Publishing date: 2 July 2015
Ratings: 3.9/5
Category: Fictional novel, suspense

Also Read: Best similar books like The Silent Patient

10. All The Rage By Courtney Summers

The novel All the Rage depicts the shame and silence inflicted upon young women in society.

Romy Grey is the main character in the story, who find the bad secrets of the sheriff’s son Kellan Turner. Everyone thinks that Kellan is a golden boy, and won’t believe Romy’s words.

By trying to reveal the truth to everyone, she lost all her loved ones, friends, family, and her community. She even starts to work outside the town, so no one recognizes her.

All the Rage by Courtney is an informative novel. It clearly shows the violence faced by Romy, and the fear she has in her mind.

Books Like Girl In Pieces

Book author: Courtney Summers
Publishing date: 14 April 2015
Ratings: 3.8/5
Category: a fictional novel, mystery

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Is Girl in Pieces an LGBT book?

Yes, Girl in Pieces can be considered an LGBT. Charlie on some occasions in the story can be seen as bisexual; by the way, she describes others. But it cannot be considered as she landed in a mental hospital because of her screwed-up life.

  • Is there a book after Girl in Pieces?

No, Girl in Pieces is a standalone fictional novel published on 22 August 2016. Kathleen Glasgow has not planned a sequel for this novel.

  • Is Girl in Pieces about an eating disorder?

The novel Girl in Pieces is somewhat about an eating disorder. The main character Charlotte has a poor body image, self-harms, and is addicted to drugs.

To Summarize

Girl in Pieces is a fictional novel about the mental issues faced by Charlotte because of her terrible life. If you want to read more books similar to Girl in Pieces, then this article is the best place. A list of ten similar fictional novels is provided here in this article.

Also Read: Top 10 Books Like One Of Us Is Lying