When I read this book, then I got interested in these books and other books related to it, the names are All These Bodies, Clique Bait, One of Us is Next, Truly Devious, and The mystery of Books Like One Of Us Is Lying makes it One of the best novels to read.

The story in this novel is based on the murder of a boy named Simon. It is full of suspense that will engage a reader to know the climax.

At the beginning of the novel, five strangers walk into detention and only four of them walk out alive. The other student dies, thus creating a crime scene. Bronwyn, Addy, Nate, Cooper, and Simon are the five students from which Simon dies.

Each student has their characteristics mentioned in the story, and all of them are having some secrets to hide. Their secrets increase the reader’s curiosity to know the truth. As Simon has planned to post juicy reveals about the other four students the day after his death, it makes all of them the suspect.

By reading this story one will not get bored or lagged, as it is full of suspense. The rest of the story continues by solving the case and finding the killer. People who are interested in crime thrillers will definitely like this story.

Book author: Karen M. McManus
Publishing date: 29 May 2017
Ratings: 4/5
Characters:

  • Bronwyn-the brain who never breaks any rules.
  • Addy-the beauty who looks like a princess.
  • Nate-the criminal who is already on probation.
  • A cooper-the athlete who is an all-star baseball pitcher.
  • Simon-the outcast who dies.

Category: young adult fiction, mystery, crime, thrilling

1. All These Bodies by Kendare Blake

The murder mystery novel All These Bodies is based on a real-life murder spree of teenagers. As it is based on real-life, it creates more interest for readers. All the readers will be tempted to read so that they can find the truth.

All These Bodies by Kendare Blake

The horrific part of the murders in this story is that all the murdered ones are completely drained out of the blood. With Carlson’s Family’s murder, Michael becomes a part of the Investigation.

Book author: Kendare Blake
Publishing date: 21 September 2021
Ratings: 3.3/5
Category: Murder Mystery, Thriller, Horror fiction

2. Clique Bait by Ann Valett

Clique Bait is somewhat a revenge story with thrill and suspense. The main character of the story is Chloe, who plans to take revenge on some popular students at her high school.

Last year these students unceremoniously ruined Chloe’s friend Monica’s life. Later the twist arises when she falls in love with one of the people, whom she should take revenge upon. The love, revengeful attitude, and twists make this story more interesting.

Book author: Ann Valett
Publishing date: 28 April 2020
Ratings: 3.6/5
Category: Thriller, love

3. Grown by Tiffany D. Jackson

The story of the New York Times bestseller Grown details the rape culture, and vulnerability of young black girls. It embraces the power of a young woman’s voice. The Grown novel exposes the mystery and horrific secrets of a young girl, and a murderer.

 Grown by Tiffany D. Jackson

At the beginning of the story, Enchanted Jones takes part in an audition with the dream of becoming a famous singer. The next day she wakes up with a lost mind and Korey Fields’ blood in her hand. The murder of Korey Fields-the judge gives the readers a great feeling.

Book author: Tiffany D. Jackson
Publishing date: 15 September 2020
Ratings: 4.3/5
Category: Thriller, murder mystery

4. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Ugly Love is the story of unnatural love between Tate Collins and Miles Archer. The new kind of relationship, without any love, makes it interesting.

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

In the conclusion, they fail to continue such a friends-with-benefits relationship. Thus, shows it’s defects and issues to the reader.

Book author: Colleen Hoover
Publishing date: 5 August 2014
Ratings: 4.2/5
Category: Love

5. One of Us is Next by Karen McManus

One of Us is next is the second part of the novel One of Us is Lying. Thus it continues with the story of its first part. After a year the four students suspected are cleared off from Simons’s Death.

One of Us is Next by Karen McManus

The continuation of the suspense and mystery will keep the reader interested until the end.

Book author: Karen McManus
Publishing date: 7 January 2020
Ratings: 4/5
Category: Murder Mystery, thriller, suspense

Related Post:-

6. Heist Society, By Ally Carter

The impossible heist done by Katarina Bishop in the novel Heist Society made it one of the New York Times bestselling novels. It is totally about a heist done by Katarina to save her father.

Heist Society By Ally Carter

Heist Society starts with a theft made by Katarina and her uncle Eddie when she was just seven.

During her days in a boarding school, Hale appears and asks her to steal a stolen priceless art collection to save her father from the list. Readers will be entertained by the impossible mission taken over by Kat.

Book author: Ally Carter
Publishing date: 9 February 2010
Ratings: 3.9/5
Category: Realistic fiction, crime, mystery

7. Truly Devious, by Maureen Johnson

Truly Devious is a story about the kidnapping of Albert Ellingham’s wife and daughter. The story starts with the beginning of a new private school built by Albert Ellingham. He planned to create a wonderful place for students to learn by making everything a game.

Truly Devious, by Maureen Johnson

Shortly after the school opened, his family got kidnapped. The story then continues with Stevie Bell, who plans to solve the mystery. Iris and Alice were never found again and this tempts the readers to read all three parts of this novel.

Book author: Maureen Johnson
Publishing date: 16 January 2018
Ratings: 4/5
Category: Mystery, Fiction, Suspense

8. Sadie By Courtney Summers

The novel Sadie includes a murder mystery that will last until the end of the story. Sadie is one of the main characters in this story living with her sister Mattie in an isolated town.

 Sadie By Courtney Summers
Books Like One Of Us Is Lying

Her whole world is broken when she finds her sister dead. Later with some clues, she tries to find her way to the killer.

West McCray is another person who overhears Sadie’s story and becomes obsessed with finding the missing girl. Every single thing in this story will keep the reader engaged.

Book author: Courtney Summers
Publishing date: 4 September 2018
Ratings: 4.1/5
Category: Mystery, Thriller, Fiction

9. White Rabbit, By Caleb Roehrig

The novel White Rabbit is the story of a murder. The main character of this novel Rufus Holt tries to prove his sister’s innocence regarding a murder. The story starts with the reappearance of Rufus’s ex-boyfriend Sebastian.

White Rabbit, By Caleb Roehrig

Later Rufus receives a call from his sister, whom he finds covered with the blood of Fox Whitney. Rufus with the help of Sebastian has only got one night to find the truth and save his sister. This will create a good feeling in the reader to know what happens next.  

Book author: Caleb Roehrig
Publishing date: 24 April 2018
Ratings: 3.8/5
Category: Mystery, thriller, fiction

10. A Spy In The House, By y.s. Lee

A Spy in the House is a mystery novel in the Victorian atmosphere about an investigation. The main character in the story Mary Quinn joins the female investigative unit in Miss Scrimshaw’s Academy for girls, after being rescued from the gallows.

Books Like One Of Us Is Lying
Books Like One Of Us Is Lying

After she is grown up, she is put to infiltrate a rich merchant’s home to trace his missing cargoes. The story continues with the investigation, romance, mystery, and dangers faced by Mary. It is a wonderful story with every interesting fact, thus is suited for all age groups.

Book author: Y.S. Lee
Publishing date: 2009
Ratings: 3.8/5
Category: Mystery, love, fiction

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Will there be a 3rd book to One of Us is Lying?

Yes, there will be the 3rd book to One of Us is Lying. Karen McManus has planned to publish the third book named Two Can Keep a Secret in 2023.

2. What books come after One of Us is Lying?

After the novel One of Us is Lying, its second part One of Us is next was released in 2020. Three parts of this book are planned and the 3rd one is yet to publish.

3. Is the book One of Us is Lying real?

No, One of Us is Lying is an adult fiction novel created and written by Karen M. McManus. It is a novel series published in the US by Delacorte Press.

4. Is there a part 2 to One of Us is Lying?

Yes, One of Us is Lying is a series novel of 3 books. The first part One of Us is Lying and the second part is named One of Us is Next. One of Us is Next was released in 2020.

To Summarize

Mystery novels are liked by almost all people. One of Us is Lying is one such novel that will keep the readers thrilled. If you are looking for similar novels like One of Us is Lying, then this is the best place to find one.

All the books mentioned in this article will give you the same reading effect as that of Books Like One Of Us Is Lying

Also Read:-Books Like No Longer Human