The silent patient is a psychological thriller novel, which shows the violent behavior of a woman toward her husband. In the story, a woman named Alicia shoots her husband five times for being late to reach home. for more go Books Like The Silent Patient.

After this incident, she doesn’t speak a word and becomes completely silent for the other six years. Alicia is given psychological treatment, from which her psychotherapist tries to find the truth.

The story continues with a psychotherapist Theo who tries to unravel the mystery by questioning the women. He finds Alicia’s old diary, which has some clues regarding the murder of Gabriel.

Later a twist arises about the connection between Theo and Alicia’s past. The story also involves the family issues faced by Theo regarding his wife Kathy. It also shows the mental issues faced by Theo in the past.

Book author: Alex Michaelides
Publishing date: 5 February 2019
Ratings: 4.2/5

Characters:

  • Theo Faber- a psychotherapist
  • Kathy Faber-Theo’s wife
  • Alicia Berenson-the patient of Theo, who killed her husband
  • Gabriel Berenson-Alicia’s husband, who is killed

The Other characters are Lazarus Diomedes, Christian West, Elif, and Jean-Felix Martin
Category: Physiological Thriller, Novel, Mystery

10 Similar Books Like The Silent Patient

There are many novels with the same theme as that of the silent patient. Those who liked the novel the silent patient will surely like the novels given below.

1. Verity By Colleen Hoover

Verity is a thriller novel that tells about the mystery of Verity Crawford’s daughter’s death. The mystery is found by a struggling writer Lowen Ashleigh. She joins in a job to complete a book series which was written by Verity Crawford. Jeremy Crawford appoints Lowen to complete the series as his wife is injured. Lowen finds the details of Verity’s death in her autobiography. She hides the autobiography from Jeremy but later sees its benefits.

Books Like The Silent Patient

Book author: Collen Hoover
Publishing date: 7 December 2018
Ratings: 4.4/5
Category: Thriller, Romance novel

2. It Ends With Us By Colleen Hoover

It Ends with Us is a romance novel, which shows the love of Lily towards Ryle Kincaid. Lily was a person with a “no dating” policy, but she finds herself falling in love with Ryle.

She completely falls for Ryle and comes to a situation, where she can’t get him out of her mind. Ryle is a sensitive, brilliant, neurosurgeon, who has a soft spot for Lily. In the new relationship, Lily faces trouble when, Atlas her first love, protector, and her kindred spirit comes back.

Books Like The Silent Patient

Book author: Collen Hoover
Publishing date: 2 August 2016
Ratings: 4.4/5
Category: Romance novel, fiction

3. The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo By Taylor Jenkins Reid

The story of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn tells about a Hollywood movie star Evelyn Hugo. Evelyn Hugo was planning to leave her show business in the 80s. So she chooses an unfamiliar magazine reporter Monique Grant to tell her story at the age of 79. Her life story includes all about her early life and the seven husbands. In the conclusion part, Monique feels a very real connection with the star Evelyn.

Books Like The Silent Patient

Book author: Taylor Jenkins Reid
Publishing date: 13 June 2017
Ratings: 4.5/5
Category: Romance, Historical novel

4. The Guest List By Lucy Foley

The Guest List is a low-paced thriller novel, that solves a murder mystery. The story starts with the wedding of a magazine publisher and a television star on an island. The wedding gets somewhat problematic when the bridesmaid accidentally ruins the bride’s dress.

The problem increases when the bride’s oldest (male) friend gives an uncomfortable caring toast. Further trouble is caused when a person is found dead at that place, who doesn’t like the wedding.

Books Like The Silent Patient

Book author: Lucy Foley
Publishing date: 20 February 2020
Ratings: 3.8/5
Category: murder mystery, thriller

5. Then She Was Gone By Lisa Jewell

Then She Was Gone is a Psychological thriller novel about the missing of a 15-year-old girl Ellie. The story is about the girl’s mother who, still has hope of finding her daughter after 10 years. The thrill is based on what happened to Ellie, and where did she go. Laurel her mother thinks a lot about her daughter when she finds a child with the same face match like that as Ellie.\

Books Like The Silent Patient

Book author: Lisa Jewell
Publishing date: 27 July 2017
Ratings: 4.1/5
Category: Psychological thriller, suspense

6. Ugly Love By Colleen Hoover

The story of Ugly Love is about the relationship between Tate Collins and Miles Archer. They became neighbors and later falls into a relationship with no love. The two of them start a friend-with-benefits relationship.

One of them has no time to love while the other one doesn’t want to love. In the last part of the story, they find that it is hard to continue their relationship in such a manner. It creates rules shattering and finally results in an ugly love.

Books Like The Silent Patient

Book author: Collen Hoover
Publishing date: 5 August 2014
Ratings: 4.2/5
Category: Love, drama

7. The Widow By Fiona Barton

The Widow is a psychological suspense novel about Jean Taylor and the crimes done by her husband. Jean Taylor was such a good wife, that didn’t notice the crimes done by her husband. She rejected the rumors about her husband as she had faith in him. But later after the death of her husband, she finds out about the crimes that her husband was suspected of committing.

Books Like The Silent Patient

Book author: Fiona Barton
Publishing date: 4 January  2016
Ratings: 3.5/5
Category: a psychological suspense novel

8. The Thirteenth Tale By Diane Setterfield

The Thirteenth Tale is a gothic suspense novel about the story of Vida. She decides to create her autobiography with the help of Margaret Lea. Her life story is about the mistrial truth behind the Angelfield/March family’s past.

The story consists of Isabelle, feral twins Adeline and Emmeline, a ghost, governance, a topiary garden, and a devastating fire. Both Vida and Margaret confront the ghost, which haunted Vida. Thus Margaret finds all the truths of Vida’s life in writing the autobiography.

Books Like The Silent Patient

Book author: Diane Setterfield
Publishing date: 12 September 2006
Ratings: 4/5
Category: Fantasy, suspense novel

9. Sharp Objects By Gillian Flynn

Sharp Objects is a debut novel about Camille Preaker, who tries to solve the murder mystery of a girl. The story starts with Camille Preaker in a Psych hospital. She faces a troubling assignment to cover the mystery of a preteen girl in her hometown.

Camille left her hometown and hasn’t visited her mother and half-sister for years. Later she gets to her house, and by staying in her old room, she finds a lot of details about the young victims. The story continues with a connection between the murders and Camille’s past surviving the homecoming. 

Books Like The Silent Patient

Book author: Gillian Flynn
Publishing date: 26 September 2006
Ratings: 4/5
Category: Murder mystery, thriller, suspense, fiction

10. The Black Painting By Neil Olson

The Black Painting is a mystery novel, which tells the story of a cursed painting. The story starts with the introduction of four cousins in the Morse family. They are invited to their grandfather’s mansion, which the four cousins have never visited. Later a prized Goya painting goes missing, and the family falls apart.

The painting is a cursed one, which when viewed by anyone will make them mad or will cause death. Teresa one of the four cousins finds her grandfather dead and tries to find the reason behind it. She uncovers the ugly family secrets, which was hidden for a long time.

Books Like The Silent Patient

Book author: Neil Olson
Publishing date: 18 December 2017
Ratings: 3.9/5
Category: Thriller, suspense, fiction

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What books are similar to Silent Patient?

Some of the books similar to The Silent Patient are Verity, It ends with us, The seven husbands of Evelyn Hugo, The Guest List, Then She was Gone, Ugly Love, etc.

2. Is there a book after The Silent Patient?

The Silent Patient written by Alex Michaelides is followed by another murder mystery The Maidens in 2021. Both novels have similarities like psychotherapists, mysterious diaries filled with clues, etc.

3. Is The Silent Patient creepy?

The Silent Patient is a thrilling and scary novel that can cause paranoia or nightmare. It has a lot of twists and many mysteries. Thus it is somewhat creepy. For those people, who love and enjoy stories that unravel mysteries, this is a good choice.

4. Is The Silent Patient a true story?

No, The Silent Patient is not based on a true story. It is a creative idea made by Alex Michaelides with his Greek heritage. He has used Greek myths in writing the novel. The myth of the Alcestis is used by the author in this novel.

To Summarize

The Silent Patient is a novel with mystery and thrill and the books similar to it Verity by colleen hoover, It Ends with Us by colleen hoover, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid, and many other mentioned above falls under the category of thrill, suspense, and fiction which makes it relatable.

However, the storyline and mysteries of each book take you into a different world. Hope the details and summary of the related novels are provided here, which will give you good knowledge.

Also Read: Books Like Where The Crawdads Sing