The story of ‘Where the Crawdads Sing’ is one great story of a young girl. This fictional story is really heart-touching where the main character Kya, is a young girl, abandoned by a family who barely went to school.

Living in a small fictional coastal town of North Carolina, Kya was taught very few basic life skills. Kya’s elder siblings and mother left her and her father because of abuse. Kya fell in love with a young fella, Tate Walker,  from the same town and had a relationship until Tate went for higher studies.

This book is exceptionally good to inspire young people and convey that life is not about giving up, even if you are left with nothing, you can fight back and win. Beyond depression and loneliness, there is always brighter light yet to come and kiss you.

Book Author: Delia Owens
Publishing Date: August 2018
Ratings: 4.5/5
Category: Novel, Mystery.

1. A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash

The debut novel from Wiley Cash impressed the readers. The story of Jess and Christofer. Narrated by Three evocative characters, this novel is loved by the readers. Though the story is a little slow-paced but the storyline and narrated by multiple characters dazzles the readers.

A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash

A land more kind than the home is a fictional story of two brothers who fought evil together in a small town. Jess is a curious boy and highly protective of his elder brother Christofer (also called Stump).  The consequence of Christofer’s sneaking habit shattered both brothers’ lives which they aren’t yet ready for.

Book Author: Wiley Cash
Publishing Date: April 2012
Ratings: 4.3/5
Category: Fiction, Thriller, Suspense.

2. The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah

A story of a War Victim, Ernt Allbright, and his family says all about how some incidents of life can turn a happy person into a violent man without even involving in crime.

 The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah

Returning from the Vietnam war, a  former POW, he and his family decide to go to Alaska to be left alone and start a new beginning.

His Daughter seems so positive about change and his wife would do anything for the redemption of the man of her life, the one she loved the most.

The story of ‘The Great Alone’ does not seem so fictional as the author Kristin Hannah is ‘one of her kind’ writer and most readers love everything about the book.

Book Author: Kristin Hannah
Publishing Date: February 2018
Ratings: 4.6/5
Category: Historical Fiction, Domestic Fiction.

3. My Abandonment by Peter Rock

Based on true events, ‘My Abandonment’ is the story of a young girl and her father who lived in a park in the middle of nowhere.

Once in a week will go for groceries and merge with the actual world where a stranger discovers about them and derails their existence.

 3.My Abandonment by Peter Rock

Peter Rock narrated the story quite well, but some readers find a few parts of the story a little confusing. As per a couple of reviews, even the climax seems a little blurry.

Book Author: Peter Rock
Publishing Date: March 2009
Ratings: 4.3/5
Category: Psychological Fiction.

4. Where The Line Bleeds By Jesmyn Ward

The author herself comes from a small town near New Orleans, the story ‘Where the Line Bleeds’ is the story of a fraternal twin brother- Joshua and Christophe. Abandoned by both parents, the twins live with their grandmother. Joshua finds a good job at the harbor while Christophe doesn’t manage to find a job, so he starts selling drugs.

Where The Line Bleeds By Jesmyn Ward

With the narrator’s deep knowledge of a world with black people, drug-riddled, poor yet strong family ties, the story doesn’t seem more fictional and with the way she wrote, any reader could easily connect with the characters.

Book Author: Jesmyn Ward
Publishing Date: 2008
Ratings: 4.4/5
Category: Domestic Fiction.

5. Swamplandia By Karen Russell

Swamplandia’s main character, a twelve-year-old girl, seems to have dramatically lost her family. Mother just dies, Father is AWOL, sister has affair with a ghost, and brother defects secretly while combating the darkness. She somehow manages to do everything and emerge as a heroine one day.

Swamplandia By Karen Russell

As per reviews by readers, people love defining characters and stories but not so much excitement seen in the book. It’s a normal story one would love to read just as binge reading.

Book Author: Karen Russell.
Publishing Date: February 2011
Ratings: 3.8/5
Category: Novel, Magical Realism, Fantasy Fiction.

6. The Wildlands By Abby Geni

The dramatic story of calamity faced a family who was hit brutally by a tornado. Actually, they lost the most in the tornado more than anyone in town. McClouds are the main family in the story with three children being in the spotlight in the media soon.

Books like Where the Crawdads Sing

Dramatic twists in the story kept the excitement in the story which was most loved by any book reader. The author captivates the readers quite well as the story consists of almost all the ingredients it should have- Terrifying, heartbreaking, love for family, reunion, and much more.

Book Author: Abby Geni
Publishing Date: September 2018
Ratings: 4.3/5
Category: Thriller, Suspense, Adventure Fiction.

7. The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

The fictional story of world war II is projected so well by Kristin, making the finest piece of writing again. ‘The Nightingale’  is a story full of fear, courage, and thriller.

Books like Where the Crawdads Sing

Vianne says goodbye to her husband who is going to the front when the Nazi invaders in France. When a German captain took over Vianne’s house, she and her daughter had to make hard choices one after another in order to keep living.

Book Author: Kristin Hannah
Publishing Date: February 2015
Ratings: 4.6/5
Category: Historical Fiction.

8. Verity By Colleen Hoover

Verity is a story of a writer who suffered an unexpected accident. Jeremy Crawford, Verity’s husband, has hired a person named Lowen Ashleigh to complete the remaining stories of Verity’s ongoing series. Later, the Story is full of surprises.

Verity By Colleen Hoover

The readers were so consumed by the story that it seems really unforgettable and has a disturbing end. From reviews, It’s not recommended for those who get emotionally triggered easily.

Book Author: Colleen Hoover
Publishing Date: December 2018
Ratings: 4.3/5
Category: Thriller, Suspense, Romance.

9. The Highest Tide by Jim Lynch

As the name suggests, this story is about the mysterious offerings by the ocean. Miles and Racheal are the main characters. Miles is a thirteen-year-old kid who is infatuated with a girl next door and is just ready to be a grown-up.

Books like Where the Crawdads Sing

There are so many ups and downs in the story as the mystery continues as the story passes. If you are fond of picturing fictitious characters/creatures and are excited about mysterious findings, this book is a must-try for you.

Book Author: Jim Lynch
Publishing Date: 2005
Ratings: 4.4/5
Category: Bildungsroman, Fiction.

10. Moloka’i by Alan Brennert

A mind-blowing fictional story by Alan, Moloka’i is about love, passion, dreams, fear, threat, pain, and most importantly surprises. The story of a spirited seven-year-old Hawaiian girl who was sent to Kalaupapa- A place with a community of abandoned. Rachel and many like her on the island of Moloka’i are quarantined because of leprosy.

Books like Where the Crawdads Sing

Many readers are fond of historical fiction and people loved the story of Moloka’i and the way Alan presented it.

Book Author: Alan Brennert.
Publishing Date: October 2003
Ratings: 4.6/5
Category:  Psychological Fiction, Novel.

Frequently Asked Questions

What to read if you like Where the Crawdads Sing?

Almost 10 books are listed above which are similar to ‘Where the Crawdads Sing’ by multiple authors. More to it are, ‘Its Ends with Us’ by Colleen Hoover and The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins. books like where the crawdads sing

Is there a book as good as Where the Crawdads Sing?

If you seem infatuated with the natural beauty with an added flavor of magic in it, ‘Flight Behavior’ by Barbara Kingsolver, rated 4.2 will be a good choice. books like where the crawdads Sing

What book should I read after Where the Crawdads Sing?

Although there is no sequel to ‘Where The Crawdads Sing’ there are several other books listed above, from similar genres, which could be the one for you.

Is kya a black girl in Where the Crawdads Sing?

No, Kya is not a black girl nor a native American. Kya, in several lines in the story, is mentioned as a white girl. books like where the crawdads sing

To Summarize

It’s pretty clear from the list of books, that there are many inspirational and motivational fictional stories and series that a book lover should try. There couldn’t be a more perfect list of series of stories to enhance your bookshelves.

Books Like Red White And Royal Blue